Thrifty Thursday tips! 

If you have read any of my previous posts you may know that I am a postgraduate student, I work part time and I try and push most of my money towards my burlesque dancing and my small creative business. Call it an investment. Student loan went in yesterday, I settled some money issues but just because I have this money I still try to spend wisely. My example today:

I will be walking to work and not paying for a months bus pass. Why? Although the student bus pass for First Bus is a great deal, this term is a short one in terms of teaching as it is mostly essay writing and then on to dissertation, I am in uni less weeks than a pass will give me. I work too but a single bus ticket is £1.50 so I figured that if I walk the one hour to work a few times a week and to/from uni on some days I can save massively! 

These are my essentials in my food cupboard: 


I got my Asda delivery worth £90 and grabbed deals! Tinned beans and pulses are great but they are a pain to carry home if you walk to the shops. This kind of tinned food is usually on offer for 2 or 3 for £1 or something similar. I use these to make pasta salads, Currys, hot pots and all sorts! I make sauces from scratch as it’s LOADS cheaper and it saves putting in the junk. Tins of coconut milk are great but what is even better is the solid blocks from Asda. One block makes two large portions for 2 and a box only costs around 50p. 

Get pastry and you can fill it with anything! Freeze it an you have a few meals ready to go. Smoothies and soups are also great back ups; filling, healthy and easy to make. 

This is a thrifty way to shop! To put it in perspective, a nice pasta sauce that isn’t full of awful ingredients will cost at least £1 and you will only get a serving for one or two people and that’s it. However a tin of tomatoes will cost less that 50p, an onion, garlic, mixed dried herbs will all cost less than £2 and if you blend the tomatoes or push the boat out and thicken the sauce out with some 80p spreadable cheese you can get sauce that will cover 4 or more dishes! 

Maybe one day I will write a good book on this! 

Leave a Reply

