Weekend Recipes! Gluten and Meat Free.

I thought I would post out something different for you out there. I suppose that is the aim of posting every day, get people interested, show how diverse I am and also give an insight in to my life. As I struggle with money every month, on my last food shop I bought in bulk, I only spent just over £50 on the main parts of meals. I am down to the dregs now obviously and I have purchased supplies along the way just to spice things up a little and change things around. So my two big bakes over the weekend that are still going are a vegetable and pulse stew/bake and an apply crumble. As the title suggests this edition is gluten and meat free. I am not a vegetarian but I don’t always eat meat and I couldn’t afford it.

Vegetable stew/bake:

  • Stock Cube
  • G/F Gravy
  • Carrots
  • Broccoli
  • Shallots
  • Garlic
  • Salt
  • Potatoes
  • Peppers
  • Mushrooms
  • Green Beans
  • Tin of Chickpeas
  • Tin of beans and pulses

You can put pretty much anything in these! I boil the veg first, use the water in the pan to mix the stock and gravy too so I’m not wasting loads of water when I don’t need to. All of the bits you don’t usually boil I cook in oil in a baking dish in the oven, then I add the pan mixture. Leave that to cook whilst warming up and draining the chickpeas, beans and pulses, draining them and adding the to the dish. These are so easy and students really don’t have an excuse to be unhealthy, even gluten free this cost under £5 to make and it has been going to two days now across two people!

Apple Crumble:

  • Bramley Apples x4
  • Apricots (fresh or tinned)
  • G/F Flour
  • Salted Butter
  • Sugar

Core and peel the apples, put in to cold water so they don’t turn. Drain the water so that there is only 2 table spoons left, put the pan on heat whilst adding sugar. I add a mixture of white and brown sugar (no I don’t measure). When this gets to a consistency that I like i.e. Mush I add to a tin suitable for cooking it in. Add the apricots (currently not in season so I used tinned, just as good.) I like a lot of crumble! So I just kept adding flour, sugar and butter until the consistency got to crumb like. Once the crumble is poured over the fruit, pop it in the oven! So easy!

I understand that I am very liberal with my servings and don’t really measure so much but that has come from just being able to cook from what I have got. The crumble I made was huge and that is also still going! These are great ideas that don’t need much care and attention.

 

Leave a Reply

